27 February 2014
The Return of The Durutti Column FBN 114 CD 
The Return of The Durutti Column FBN 114 CD

Hot on the heels of the highly popular and critically acclaimed vinyl version, Factory Benelux will soon release a 19-track CD edition of the classic debut album The Return of The Durutti Column by The Durutti Column. This new version includes all 9 tracks from the first Factory Records pressing (the sandpaper sleeve) plus the six tracks which formed side two of the rare second pressing. Add in the Martin Hannett 'Test Card' tracks from the original flexi and Madeleine and Lips That Would Kiss from the original Factory Benelux 12-inch single and you have quite a package.

The cover art is black Dufy version and the CD booklet includes photography by Daniel Meadows, and the extensive liner notes feature words by Vini Reilly, Martin Hannett, Tony Wilson, Peter Saville, Daniel Meadows, John Brierley, Bruce Mitchell and members of Joy Division (who famously help glue together the original sandpaper sleeved album).

FBN 114 CD 'The Return of The Durutti Column' is out on 5 May 2014. For more information (including on how to order) please visit factorybenelux.com.


1. Sketch for Summer
2. Requiem for a Father
3. Katharine
4. Conduct
5. Beginning
6. Jazz
7. Sketch for Winter
8. Collette
9. In 'D'
10. Lips That Would Kiss
11. Madeleine
12. The First Aspect of the Same Thing
13. The Second Aspect of the Same Thing
14. Untitled
15. Jazz
16. Sketch for Winter
17. Collette
18. Beginning
19. In 'D'

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Cerysmatic Factory via FeedBurner   FeedBurner subscribers to Cerysmatic Factory
FAC 51 The Hacienda
The Names

Post punk cult band The Names emerged in the winter of 1977-1978 as The Passengers, gathering immediate attention on the local Brussels scene. In 1979, after a series of successful gigs and a crucial step forward opening for Magazine, they recorded their first E.P. ("Spectators Of Life") and attracted the interest of prominent label Factory Records in Manchester.

Their first British studio session (at Stockport's Strawberry Studio) produced the single "Nightshift" / "I Wish I Could Speak Your Language (Fac 29). Receiving enthusiastic reviews in the UK and abroad, it marked the start of a long and fruitful collaboration with producer Martin Hannett. The album "Swimming" followed as well as more singles, including "Calcutta" and "The Astronaut".

- extract from the official website biography

Factory Records Catalogue

The Durutti Column