04 April 2012
Shakespeare: The Sonnets 
Robert Hollingworth, the Gramophone award-winning director of ex-Factory Classical ensemble I Fagiolini, presents a new collection of musical versions of the sonnets of William Shakespeare.

Out on the birthday of the bard himself - 23 April - these musical pieces were written during the time of Elizabeth I and re-imagined for the 2012 Diamond Jubilee year of Elizabeth II. Shakespeare: The Sonnets was recorded in London over the last 6 months.

The album is played on replicas of period instruments by some of the most highly talented and specialised musicians in the world. The harpsichords, virginals, lutes, harps and theorbos (no, me neither) can be yours for £10-20K (hey, it's cheaper than a Damien Hirst plastic skull!).

Watch a short YouTube video about the making of Shakespeare: The Sonnets.


1. Like as the waves make towards the pebbled shore (Sonnet 60)
2. Against that time - If ever that time come (Sonnet 49)
3. Who will believe my verse in time to come (Sonnet 17)
4. How oft, when thou, my music, music play'st (Sonnet 128)
5. O, never say that I was false of heart (Sonnet 109)
6. Love is too young to know what conscience is (Sonnet 151)
7. No longer mourn for me when I am dead (Sonnet 71)
8. Thou blind fool love (Sonnet 137)
9. Those lines that I before have writ do lie (Sonnet 115)
10. When I do count the clock that tells the time (Sonnet 12)
11. Shall I compare thee to summers day? (Sonnet 18)

More info at ifagiolini.com

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Cerysmatic Factory via FeedBurner   FeedBurner subscribers to Cerysmatic Factory
FAC 51 The Hacienda
The Names

Post punk cult band The Names emerged in the winter of 1977-1978 as The Passengers, gathering immediate attention on the local Brussels scene. In 1979, after a series of successful gigs and a crucial step forward opening for Magazine, they recorded their first E.P. ("Spectators Of Life") and attracted the interest of prominent label Factory Records in Manchester.

Their first British studio session (at Stockport's Strawberry Studio) produced the single "Nightshift" / "I Wish I Could Speak Your Language (Fac 29). Receiving enthusiastic reviews in the UK and abroad, it marked the start of a long and fruitful collaboration with producer Martin Hannett. The album "Swimming" followed as well as more singles, including "Calcutta" and "The Astronaut".

- extract from the official website biography

Factory Records Catalogue

The Durutti Column