02 April 2010
Auteur Labels - Independent Project Records 
The latest instalment in LTM's compilation series Auteur Labels featuring cult American post-punk imprint Independent Project Records is released on 3 May 2010.

Founded by Bruce Licher of renowned experimental group Savage Republic in Los Angeles in 1980, IPR has released a raft of diverse records by groups as diverse as Camper Van Beethoven, For Against and Savage Republic themselves.

The Factory connection on this release comes from the inclusion of Benway's Carnival by Abecedarians which was the B-side of the debut 12" release FAC 117 Smiling Monarchs (which itself can be found on LTMCD 2534 Auteur Labels: Factory Records 1984.

The 78 minute remastered CD features 23 tracks, detailed label history and archive images.

LTMCD 2544 Auteur Labels: Independent Project Records

1. Savage Republic - The Ivory Coast
2. Human Hands - Dilemmas
3. Party Boys - Jim Jones
4. Ten Foot Faces - Don't Want Love
5. Camper Van Beethoven - Take The Skinheads Bowling
6. For Against - Shine
7. Deception Bay - Fence and Flag
8. Abecedarians - Benway's Carnival
9. Savage Republic - O Andonis
10. Woo - Down Town Suburbia
11. Indian Bingo - Separation Days
12. Red Temple Spirits - New Land
13. Autumnfair - So Far From God
14. Fourwaycross - Halloween
15. Half String - Eclipse
16. Tone - The Power of Introspection
17. Alison's Halo - Dozen
18. Scenic - Sage
19. Jeffrey Clark - Exploded View
20. Springhouse - Moving Van
21. Bruce Licher - Life Begets A Reprise
22. Project 197 - Nine
23. Bridge - Underground, Part 4 + Bridge

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Cerysmatic Factory via FeedBurner   FeedBurner subscribers to Cerysmatic Factory
FAC 51 The Hacienda
The Names

Post punk cult band The Names emerged in the winter of 1977-1978 as The Passengers, gathering immediate attention on the local Brussels scene. In 1979, after a series of successful gigs and a crucial step forward opening for Magazine, they recorded their first E.P. ("Spectators Of Life") and attracted the interest of prominent label Factory Records in Manchester.

Their first British studio session (at Stockport's Strawberry Studio) produced the single "Nightshift" / "I Wish I Could Speak Your Language (Fac 29). Receiving enthusiastic reviews in the UK and abroad, it marked the start of a long and fruitful collaboration with producer Martin Hannett. The album "Swimming" followed as well as more singles, including "Calcutta" and "The Astronaut".

- extract from the official website biography

Factory Records Catalogue

The Durutti Column